Grand National Archery Society

Archery GB is the biggest national body that governs archery within the United Kingdom. Archery GB is responsible for all levels of archery in the UK, from elite to advanced. It is home to more than 40,000 members. Archery GB is the umbrella organization that encompasses English Archery Association and Archery Northern Ireland, Scottish Archery as well as Welsh Archery Association. Under Archery GB are eight Regional Societies as well as a number of different county societies. It is part of the World Archery Federation (WA); (formerly FITA, the Federation Internationale de Tir a l’Arc) and is a member of the British Olympic Association. The society’s motto is “Union, Trueheart and Courtesie”. World Archery is the another largest national governing body for Archery.


Archery GB is the largest archery society for target archery in Britain. It also includes all forms of archery like Clout archery and field archery.

The society is currently responsible for over 750 clubs as well as 28,000 members registered across the UK, all of whom are eligible to get the magazine Archery UK four times a year, included in their membership. It hosts national tournaments, trains coaches and ensures that clubs affiliated to it are covered by their insurance policy for public liability. These costs can be partially paid for by affiliation fees that club members have to have to pay to Archery GB and county associations.


The very first Grand National Archery Meeting was held at the Knavesmire in York in 1843, but the Grand National Archery Society (later Archery GB) itself was not formed until 1861 [1] when it met at the Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool. Its first activities were limited to the organization of the Annual National Championships, being at the time only one of the archery societies; and it did not establish itself as the official governing body for the UK until some time later. It was made mandatory for archers wanting to compete or shoot in the club to become registered as a GNAS member. Administration was done by regions, counties, and clubs.

Some of the Archery Equipment list:

Three of the more significant historical societies – which all still exist today are the Royal Toxophilites (founded in 1781) and the Woodmen of Arden (founded in 1785) as well as the Royal Company of Archers (founded in 1676). While they’re distinct from the GNAS, some members might be part of both.

With archery now firmly established as a sport in the Olympics, GNAS/Archery GB has seen many international successes and British archers have earned a total of 4 medals since the reintroduction of the sport during the 1972 Olympic Games.

Craig David was named the bow selector of the British archery team’s April 2021 squad.

Rebranding itself as Archery GB

At the Annual General Meeting held at Lilleshall on 19 April 2008, an official announcement was made confirming the fact that “Archery GB” would become the trading name for the GNAS. An item in the issue of Summer 2008 in Archery UK, the official GNAS magazine, says:

This momentous event in the history of the Society formalizes the transition, which is in its infancy. The Archery GB branding was adopted by the most renowned archers. From this point on, the Archery GB brand will represent all facets of the organisation including the Olympic team, coaching programs as well as the events and membership. The Grand National Archery Society brand does not reflect the organization’s global reach and breadth. This has been altered. The logo is old-fashioned and rather drab. The name conjures images of an isolated organization with a love of horse racing that is not a fair representation of a governing body of such stature.

Also read: Archery rules

Leave a Response